PDA

View Full Version : Differences between pocket pool balls

TheArtOfHungFu
11-11-2003, 06:06 PM
I have trouble drawing the cue ball far as I would like on Aramith balls as oppossed to other brands. Does anybody have the same experience?

JimS
11-11-2003, 08:00 PM
I've become so accustomed to the red circle cue ball that I forget what characteristics the others have. That said the amount of draw is determined by a lot of factors. Like: the weight of the ball, how clean or dirty the cb is, whether it's been waxed, the type of cloth used the speed and angle of the stroke, the amount of follow through....and there are probably others I"m not remembering...since I'm no expert by a long shot.

And, I'm not sure if you mean that you are getting more draw from different cue ball or from differnt sets of balls in general. Be aware that certainly the balls other than the cb would not affect the amount of draw you get. Or..maybe a MUCH heavier ob would cause the cb to draw better???

Good players can see a difference in brands of cb's. I can....sometimes...but usually I just don't have the level of control needed to determine these small differences.

Rick the stick
11-11-2003, 09:27 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote TheArtOfHungFu:</font><hr> I have trouble drawing the cue ball far as I would like on Aramith balls as oppossed to other brands. Does anybody have the same experience? <hr /></blockquote>