PDA

View Full Version : Help...drills needed

Brent
11-23-2003, 04:00 PM
Hi everyone. Im a rookie player trying to find my game. I have been playing for about 1.5 years and I think Im doing pretty good. The problem is that Id really like some drills to practise while playing alone...and I really like playing alone cuz the guys I have been training with for the past 6 months are not pushing me any further if u know what I mean. They play ok, but I still dont take the games seriously enough and due to the fact that we are all in college and dont have a lot of money floating around waiting to be played for...well we dont play for money. I know that different drills all depend on skill level and things like that so Il try to explain a bit. My aim is pretty good with long and short shots. I can run a rack every now and then (couple of times a week). The thing that I have problems, problems Im aware of, are long shots with english (who doesnt /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif) and shots where the OB is close to the rail or against it. Oh and I also have big problems controlling my draws. So Scott and everyone out there...help cuz you all know what it feels like when u pick up the cue and feel like nothing has changed with the last year....or month /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Thnx

ras314
11-23-2003, 06:02 PM
A draw drill Scott Lee recomends.

START(
%AH7Z5%B\7X1%CJ5O4%DL7N1%EM7P1%FK6P1%GK6N8%HM7N8%I L7O4%JK6M5
%KJ5P7%LJ5N2%MZ1X1%N[4X1%OJ5M0%PO1Z5%eB4b5
)END

This is a progressive drill, shown on right side of table for right hand players. First stop the cb (center ball hit),then draw back one diamond to original position, then two diamonds, ect. The three balls at the side pocket are shown to give you a leeway for position to leave the cb, ie so as to not require too precise a spot to draw too. Put them at each diamond you are drawing to.

The hit should be soft. Ob should fall into pocket rather than hit the back of the pocket.