PDA

View Full Version : Pool Cue Joints and the difference between them

bigalerickson
04-17-2002, 09:39 PM
Hi, I am new to this discussion forum, and have probably what is a bit of a "novice" question, but I am in fact a novice so it works out!

I am looking to invest in a high quality cue, and the one huge difference I see amongst them is the joint. I have seen "wood to wood" joints, quick release, "uni-lock" (i spent some time on the mcdermott web site), as well as others.

Some insite to this would be helpful.

Thanks.

bigalerickson

Cueless Joey
04-17-2002, 09:48 PM
Go to ckcues.com and check the cue building section.

bigalerickson
04-17-2002, 11:45 PM
I could not find a "building" section, I just found pics of their cues, and a link to email them... but wow, those are some beautiful cues!

04-17-2002, 11:46 PM
Do you mean high quality cue as in a "pretty" cue with lots of inlay work or a "playing cue"?

In my mind the best quality join also happens to be the cheapest. That is of course the "no" join one piece.

If your only a novice I suggest getting a one piece Dufferin. Make sure you try it out though, the quality can vary from stick to stick but when you find a good one it will be the find of your life.

I annoy all my friends greatly with my $50 1-piece duff cause they all have $800 2 piece cues that don't play as well as mine. As soon as you put a joint in a cue it degrades the hit. Keep it pure and simple.

04-17-2002, 11:55 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: Anonymous:</font><hr> I annoy all my friends greatly with my $50 1-piece duff cause they all have $800 2 piece cues that don't play as well as mine. As soon as you put a joint in a cue it degrades the hit. Keep it pure and simple. <hr></blockquote>

y'know, that's been my developing theory. the best "pure" shot will be with a one piece cue and that everything that involves cutting it down and putting a joint in it is compensation for and mitigation of the damage.