PDA

View Full Version : joints

Keith Talent
12-11-2003, 12:32 AM
Over the past year since I started playing again, I've been observing both what good players and the pros seem to like in a cue, and also what seems to work for me. No doubt there are plenty of other factors that make up the quality of a cue's hit, but I'd like to focus on the joint here.

My question is ... I read a lot of posts here rapping the typical stainless joint. I started off with a couple of cues with 'em and found them OK, but over the past few months, I've come to prefer the wood-to-wood thump of my sneaky (not with a wood screw or wooden threads, mind you, but flat-faced) to the kind of harsh, pingy feel of what was my regular cue, with a stainless joint.

So ... I get the feeling a lot of good players here prefer something other than SS, maybe phenolic, maybe wood-to-wood ... but how come I don't see many (any?) pros using wood-to-wood? Is there a loss of accuracy, maybe power, that could make the difference at that level? For myself, if I were to upgrade, I suppose I'd gravitate toward the Schuler joint ... or some other custom wood joint. Pros and cons?

tateuts
12-11-2003, 02:08 AM
Hi Keith,

The rap on stainless is the balance issue - the tendancy to add weight to the front of the cue. I think a well built cue can have a great hit with any number of joint styles. Ivory is another great hitting joint and it's popular with the better players. But it is hard to beat a wood-to-wood joint with an ivory ferrule.

My Scruggs has a unique 3/8 X 10 piloted stainless joint with a radial pin and ivory ferrules. The hit is terrific - no ping at all - and I would say it is at least comparable to a wood to wood or ivory joint.

Chris

buddha162
12-11-2003, 05:16 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Keith Talent:</font><hr>