PDA

View Full Version : a REALLY bad match, why did this happen?

TheDragon
12-11-2003, 01:45 PM
Tudsday night I made it to the finals of the 8-ball tournament at my dads poolroom. I hadn't been playing well at all, but I was playing smart enough and against weak enough players that I slipped by all my opponents.

In the final match, I was giving the guy a game in a race to 4. I started playing better than I had all tournament. I wasn't running racks, but I was choosing smart shots and getting out when I needed to. When I was up 3-1 he ran out to the 8-ball and missed. After a long safety battle where I slowly pocketed my balls, I finally reached the 8-ball. It was a fairly simple (but missable) shot, and I made every effort to pocket it. I checked my stance, my stroke, and had complete focus (or what felt like it) on the ball. After a few added practice strokes I pulled the trigger, and missed it by half a diamond. I was really mad, but I knew that I was better than my opponent and as long as I didn't let my emotions show I could still win the match.

The next game I ran out to my last ball and missed. I figured he was out but he too made a stupid mistake and missed, leaving me a shot. With the 8-ball almost hanging in the other pocket, all I really had to do was pocket the ball. Again I took caution, making sure everything was in-line and ready. I took my time and gave it a nice stroke, and missed it just as bad. I was very flustered, but gave my best effort (although you could probably tell I was a little irratated) to keep myself quiet and relaxed.