PDA

View Full Version : Mental Side of the Game

recoveryjones
12-12-2003, 05:08 PM
Hi friends, RJ here from Vancouver Canada. I'm a newbie here but have played pool for years.I play mostly nine ball and eight ball in a Thursday night league.I would love to bring my practice game to the tournaments and money matches more often. Does anyone out there have a reccomendation on any good books/videos related to the mental side of the game.I need to relax more, up the concentration, and stop the negative self talk. Any imput on this subject would be appreciated.

woody_968
12-12-2003, 05:42 PM
I havent read any books about the mental side of pool, but I have read several on golf which I have applied to pool.

Bob Rotella has several books out that are great, Golf is not a game of perfect helped me alot. It talks about not thinking about a shot you have already hit (unless it was good) but thinking about what you have to do next.

The biggest key to bringing your practice game to the table would have to be a consistent pre-shot routine. This is a kind of count down if you will prior to the shot.

Another factor many dont think about is learning how to practice and learning how to play. When you practice it is ok to think about stroke mechanics, but a great amount of practice time should be spent practing to play. What I mean is you have to learn to focus on the target and not think about swing- er I mean stroke mechanics. This does take practice!!!!

Chris Cass
12-12-2003, 05:46 PM
Tap, Tap, Tap.

C.C.

pooljunkie73
12-12-2003, 07:18 PM
The Monk has put out about the best books on the mental side of pool,IMO. They have helped me over come parts of my mental game that wrecked havoc on my game. Another great person to talk to is David "BlackJack" Sapolis. He posts here on the board and he has helped me quite a bit.

Kent Mc.

phil in sofla
12-12-2003, 07:38 PM