PDA

View Full Version : Advice on buying a new cue

aaatkr
12-12-2003, 10:05 PM
After a long hiatus, I started playing seriously again. My old Viking has been trashed by my brother-in-law and I am looking for a new cue under $600. The brands I'm looking at are as follows:
Joss, Schon, Helmstetter, Falcon, Balabushka, Pechauer, Viking, Lucasi and Jacoby (did I forget any).
Are there some of these brands that stand above the others as far as quality is concerned or some that should be avoided? Any reccomendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Cueless Joey
12-12-2003, 10:18 PM
Don't buy a Meucci.

Sid_Vicious
12-12-2003, 10:48 PM
Buy the Joss or the Schon and don't think about it anymore. Six hundred should get you a solid shooter in either line. Yea, skip the Meucci cues...sid

justbrake
12-12-2003, 10:57 PM
save some change for a black dot shaft! /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

tateuts
12-13-2003, 01:41 AM
I think Schon is the best of this group, with Pechauer second.

If you want a custom, Dale Perry has been selling a number of his customs on E-Bay in the $300 to $500 range - and they're terrific cues.

Chris

JimS
12-13-2003, 06:47 AM
I'm with Chris. I recommend getting a custom made cue.

Chris Cass
12-13-2003, 08:55 AM
Hi aaatkr,

I recommend looking into what Blackheart Cues have to offer. I've seen his work first hand and it's beautiful. He also is a sponsor of a few people posting here. Although, I've never hit with any of his cues they are built well and have heard many fine comments about them.

I also recommend you try the cues your interested in buying. Like most people looks come first. The cue has to appeal to you and then the specs you find most desirable. Formost, the hit or playability of the cue. Lastly, the resale value. You want a cue that will hold most of it's value when you need to up grade later. A good cuemaker would let you trade your in later for an upgrade. You must keep in mind the condition of the cue at the time.