PDA

View Full Version : critical teammates

dmgwalsh
12-16-2003, 09:02 AM
I just started playing in a bca 8 ball league this year. I'd never played ball in hand before, but I'm learning more and more about the game. I'm off and on. some nights I go 3 and 3, some nights 0 and 6, one night 6 and 0, one night 5 and 1. Some nights I win some I thought I should have lost and some nights the opposite is true.
Anyway, one of my teammates is very negative after every shot. I cringe to come back to my seat after missing a shot. He makes a pained expression and says "You should have made that. We need some points. You can't keep missing those.He's gonna run out." He says things like that to me and the other two teammates when they are playing. He even said things like that to me when I went 6 and 0. The other team member who got me involved says that's just how he is. He says they gave him a mock trophy once as most valuable player for the opposition. I tried to tell him that he should encourage teammates so that they do better, but he says he likes to criticize. I've dished it back to him because he doesn't really play any better than me, but that is counterproductive and doesn't stop him. I know that if I can play through his crap, I will be mentally stronger, but I don't look forward to driving round trip almost two hours every league night to experience his special gift.
I'm not the only one who feels this way on the team. I don't really want to quit because there are a lot of good people in this league. Any ideas on how to handle him? Or should i just suck it up and try to play through it?

Wally_in_Cincy
12-16-2003, 09:21 AM
That's a bunch of crap. But unless the other guys are willing to vote him off there's not a lot you can do.

I would just ignore him if you can. Or laugh at him.

cycopath
12-16-2003, 10:08 AM
Just offer him a big cup of "Shut the @#$% up"!

mike_in_iowa
12-16-2003, 10:17 AM