PDA

View Full Version : what am i doing wrong?

ray
12-31-2003, 02:37 PM
i have been playing pool for about 3 years, and consider myself a pretty good player. alot of the guys are amazed that i have only been playing for as long as i have.

my one problem is that when i play in tournaments i ALWAYS lose my first game. and i mean ALWAYS!

could it be that i need a game to get used to my surroundings or is it just nerves?

also, i have been reading the posts on this board for about 3-4 weeks now and alot of the techniques that you guys have discussed have improved my game.

any advice would be appreciated.

ray

Iowashark
12-31-2003, 02:44 PM
I think perhaps you need to be more specific. Do you mean just the first game, or the whole match? Lot's of times I'll stall a bit in the first game to get a feel for how the other player shoots, how he/she reacts to safe play, long shots, bank shots, etc... This often costs me the first game of the match, but is usually beneficial in the long run. If you're losing the entire match it's probably nerves. I would suggest matching up against a weaker player/friend before the tournament to get some money balls pocketed and increase your confidence level. If you're missing balls you usually make, that means you're unsure of your stroke. These are just some things that help me out, others will probably offer some better advice.

kunin
12-31-2003, 02:45 PM
Could be psychological.You might be so stressed because it's the first game you can't relax and "play your game".There's a lot of things you can try meditation,however for me it's just a matter of coming out of the gate as strong and controlled as possible.JMHO

ray
12-31-2003, 02:47 PM
well, it is just the first game, i usually lose that one and either win or come in second in the tourney.

but i never lose more than that one game.

it's become a running joke between me and my friends.

ray

Sid_Vicious
12-31-2003, 03:00 PM