PDA

View Full Version : I need some help please

Kato
01-03-2004, 10:34 PM
Recently we've seen a nice influx of new players in our room and the owner recently approached me about teaching a class so.............starting in February I'm going to be teaching absolute beginners a couple hours a weekend. While extremely interested I approach this with great caution and trepidation because I don't necessarily see myself as particularly qualified. Though having good skills as a verbal communicator (CCB tournaments do not apply /ccboard/images/graemlins/tongue.gif) I've never necessarily seen myself as a teacher. Of course as Breakers Billiards unofficial "Pool Ettiquette Police" I've managed to step into this one. So I guess the question is this.............................

How do I go about this?

Kato

PS. The reason I'm asking is because I've been mentally preparing my first lesson for the last couple of days and while I've got a million things swimming in my head I'm sure I should just cover a few to begin with.

Popcorn
01-03-2004, 10:51 PM
If you are teaching beginners it should be easy. I would set up a curriculum though, don't just wing it. It should be fun. Don't pretend to be anything more then what you are, be honest. If you are nervous, tell them and it will disarm the situation. For sure tell them a little about the equipment. Pocket sizes, the balls and cues, table sizes and what ever will be of interest. I think that is important.

Qtec
01-03-2004, 11:48 PM
Aaaah! The dreaded absolute beginner class. HaHa LOL

Dont worry, they will be more nervous than you are.A lttle humour is good for putting people at their ease so have a couple of jokes ready.

In any lesson, you start with the basics and then take it from there. With beginners you will find that you will be covering the same ground repeatedly. Be patient, it could take months before your group is able to consistently hit the Qb in a straight line!