PDA

View Full Version : What's your opinion?

mattr
01-07-2004, 09:14 AM
I am new to the game of billiards. I am in the process of completing a game room in my home and would like to purchase a table. I have set a budget of $2000 for a table (not including accessories). My biggest problem has been finding reviews or recommendations of tables. I have searched as many forums as I could find and have found a lot of suggestions for looking into used tables, such as Brunswick or Diamond. However, I am interested in a new table. I have also found websites outlining what to look for in quality table construction. The only tables I have seen are by American Heritage (Boston model) and Fischer (Dutchess model). Comparing the two, each has some qualities that make a good table. However, some components are of lesser quality than recommended. I assume this is to be expected in a table in this price range.

As a result, I am as confused as ever. Does anyone have a recommendation regarding these table (or others in this price range). Any opinion is useful to me.

Thanks for all your help. I look forward to learning much more from this forum.

Matt

Popcorn
01-07-2004, 09:23 AM
Tables lose a lot of value, you should look used.

=k=
01-07-2004, 11:03 AM
i agree with popcorn.. i don't know your area but here in phoenix i looked at several used tables, most of the were 3000 plus new and they were asking 750 to 1500 for these tables.. at least 85% of these tables looked show room quailty.. i think most of them are status symbols.. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

eg8r
01-07-2004, 11:23 AM