PDA

View Full Version : Pool stereotypes smashed, amazement, localquestion

04-21-2002, 09:32 PM
just worked on my info page..Hello board. ok, where to start? here at stereotypes.
i maintained in my mind, a rough pool hall stereotype for much of my life... i'm a social worker and for a try at helping the people i work with, i started bringing certain better functioning clients out into society. first to softball(awful, some onlookers literally laughing and pointing), then bowling(pretty serious harassment problems and at times what appeared to be hate), then eventually out to local poolrooms and tournaments. i had anticipated a terrible reaction and was prepared for it. ok, to be dead honest, i was conciously expecting screaming, angry, jumping, rednecks itching to fight so much that it burns them inside and distractions like pool are needed as salve. i'm not naive, i've been tipsy in bars i had no business in but managed a good time with or without physical "outside" confrontations. there's my pool stereo-type on a platter. in my experience poolhall players are vastly differant than those that play in these more "physically challenging" areas. back to the first point.