PDA

View Full Version : Just Wondering........

David Bray
01-30-2004, 04:02 PM
Feeling like sharing a story about a cue of mine. I have an old McDermott cue that I FOUND here in the poolhall that I work at. Someone had left it here in an It's George case no one had claimed it for 10 weeks, no calls no letters or anyone coming in and asking if it was here. I had left in the office right behind the front counter. After those ten weeks went by I had just claimed it for myself and I started playing with it and I fell in love with it. The cue was in very good condition with the orginial nylon wrap on it and just a little wear on the finish of it. It's not worth a thousand dollars or anything like that but it's still a great find and an excellent cue to play with, especially since I had our local house pro make me a new shaft (the orginal shaft was too thin for me) and I've improved my game by a ball and a half. So what kind of finds have you made in your pool room and have you held on to it or sold it?

Popcorn
01-30-2004, 05:03 PM
I had a Joss cue sitting in my closet for more then a year before the guy came back. It was just for a rewrap and he dropped it off on his way to the airport and said he would be back in a few weeks. Over a year later he turned up at my door and asked if I still had the cue. He said he would understand if I did not. I gave him the cue and he paid me with no explanation. I have a cue now I have had for about 8 months. The guy who left it when he was here was telling me about his legal problems, I have a feeling he may be in jail. As far as the cue you have, a couple of months is too soon to take the cue. The right to take property is usually based on satisfying a debt, not just the guy doesn't know where he left of forgot his cue.