PDA

View Full Version : Eight-ball



scott
02-09-2004, 07:49 AM
I know the 8-ball can't be used in a combination unless the table is open. What about an object ball which caroms off the 8-ball into the pocket? Legal shot?

Fred Agnir
02-09-2004, 07:56 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote scott:</font><hr> I know the 8-ball can't be used in a combination unless the table is open.<hr /></blockquote>

By today's rules (World Standardized/BCA Rule 4.9 and 4.15), unless the 8-ball is the legal object ball, you can never use the 8-ball as the first ball in a combination. Not even if the table is open. To do so is a foul.

[ QUOTE ]
What about an object ball which caroms off the 8-ball into the pocket? Legal shot? <hr /></blockquote> This is legal.

Fred

sandgnat
02-09-2004, 07:58 AM
The eight ball CAN be used in a combination. It cannot be the first ball struck, however.

PQQLK9
02-09-2004, 08:57 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Fred Agnir:</font><hr>
By today's rules (World Standardized/BCA Rule 4.9 and 4.15), unless the 8-ball is the legal object ball, you can never use the 8-ball as the first ball in a combination. Not even if the table is open. To do so is a foul.

Fred <hr /></blockquote>
4.15 COMBINATION SHOTS
Combination shots are allowed; however, the 8-ball can't be used as a first ball in the combination <font color="red">unless it is the shooter's only remaining legal object ball on the table. </font color> Otherwise, should such contact occur on the 8-ball, it is a foul.

http://www.udayton.edu/~billiard/8rules.html