PDA

View Full Version : PLAYING SOBER

recoveryjones
02-17-2004, 10:53 PM
I've been playing pool clean and sober for the past 3 1/2 years, henceforth the name recovery jones.I can remember playing bar pool and drinking about 6 beers and playing pretty good winning most of the time. The beer seemed to have a settleing effect on my game until I eventually got much too loaded.

I also used to play under the delusion that pot and other drugs helped my game. There are some famous snooker stars that I know, who did coke (one was a world champ) and another great player couldn't perform without at least 6-8 beers.I've also heard of some great American players who played quite well under the influence.Please don't ask for names as out of respect to these players I'll keep their anonimity.

The best I've ever played and the most I've ever learned is the pool I play now, straight, with a clear mind. I'm only a B+ nine ball player and can get hot from time to time and run the odd rack or two.Even at 47 years old I still believe I can become an A player.I don't think I would have ever improved staying on the stuff. For ME,it was all a delusion.(No preaching intended)

Has anyone out there had simuliar experences or known of great players with addiction problems. I shot great today and am greatful that I'm clean so I just thought I'd post. Take care, RJ

www.recoveryjonescartoons.com (http://www.recoveryjonescartoons.com)

Wally_in_Cincy
02-18-2004, 07:44 AM
Did you ever read a book called "McGoorty"? McGoorty was a world-class 3C player who could have been much better if he could have stayed sober.

IIRC #### tells a story about Ralph Greenleaf running 150 balls when he was so drunk he had to hang onto the rails to avoid falling down.

Personally I play about 2 balls better when I'm not drinking and if I have a real buzz I can't run 3 friggin' balls.

Iowashark
02-18-2004, 09:43 AM