PDA

View Full Version : Need tips on playing better defensively in 8 ball.

ElectricEye
02-24-2004, 01:12 PM
I started playing pool at around age 5 and played alot thru my teenage years, though always just for fun and love of playing. I am 35 now and for the last 15 years or so I probably have shot pool on the average of 2-3 nights a month at a local bar where I find the competition better than most. Over the years I would say I am above average for a bar player and find myself staying on the table long periods most nights.

Anyhoo, a couple months back my friend who's not quite as good as I joined a 8 ball league where the competition is tough, his teamates say they are APA 5 - 7 players. I played them a little bit one night and they are good, they will run out quite often if left the chance. I realize these guys play at another level but from what I have observed, I can shoot and play position just as well, I saw nothing really astonishing about their game but what I feel I need is a new strategy.