PDA

View Full Version : How much practice is too much?

AnimalChin
03-04-2004, 12:51 PM
..or is there no such thing?

I've been playing pool for about two years, but it was mostly an excuse to go out and get drunk with my friends. In the last two months, I quit drinking and really fell in love with the game. I don't have my own table, and can't get one living in an apartment, so there is only so much I can play. I have four days off, so I try to squeeze as much pool in as I can.

Well, this week I logged 21 hours on the tables in four days. Some playing my friends, some playing strangers, most by myself doing drills. Today, my shoulder, knees, and brain are pretty much toast. Should I keep it up at this pace, or am I grooming myself for an early retirement?

-AnimalChin

Anonamus
03-04-2004, 01:08 PM
Practise for as long as it remains fun. Don't force it or you will burn yourself out. Don't worry about the physical pain, your body will adapt.

houstondan
03-04-2004, 01:57 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote AnimalChin:</font><hr> ..or is there no such thing?

Well, this week I logged 21 hours on the tables in four days. -AnimalChin <hr /></blockquote>

not counting the money and the fact that your muscles aren't used to it....that's really not all that much table time. most heavies that i know or know of have had long periods of 12 or more hours per day for long stretches. now, they don't usually maintain that pace for very many years but most can track their rise to those periods.

dan

Eric.
03-04-2004, 02:14 PM
Dan and Ed mentioned it; 5 hours a day isn't too much, there are people that do twice that. As long as you take care of your body i.e. stretch out so you don't pull a muscle, I don't think you have too much to worry about.