PDA

View Full Version : Why are men better than women?

04-25-2002, 09:52 AM
Now I'm not a pool expert and it may be my own bad judgement, but it seems to me at the professional levels, men are better than women. I can understand other sports where physical aspects are more important, but why pool?

04-25-2002, 10:32 AM
Because there are more men playing Pool than women.

I'll give an extreme example...

Say that worldwide, 1 Billion men play Pool seriously. Out of those 1 Billion, you pick the 10 best. Now say that worldwide, only 100 women play Pool seriously. Out of those 100, you pick the 10 best.

Which group of 10 do you think is going to play better?

It's a matter of statistics.

(Being the engineer that I am, I realize this is an extremely simple and inaccurate model. For example, it doesn't account for women in that group of 100 being able to play men in that group of 1 billion. But it'll do to get the point across.)
/ccboard/images/icons/smile.gif

Doctor_D
04-25-2002, 10:35 AM
Good afternoon:

I would have to agree with Mike, even with-out applying any actuarial mathematics, that the size of the statistical sampling would have a significant impact on the results.

Dr. D.

Tom_In_Cincy
04-25-2002, 11:26 AM
Mike,
10 best out of 1 billion or 10 best out of 100.. either way, "Best" is not defined, only the numbers.

Your example might as well be stated top ten "Best at anything" out of 1 million MEN and top 10 "best at having babies" out of women.. and it falls apart..

The skills of a Pro Pool players are only measured by their playing ability in competition against other Pros. When and if this ever happens.. its the only way to measure who is better.

Take the top 10 Men & Women pros and put them in a room and within 15 minutes, I garuntee they would all be picking on Earl.

04-25-2002, 11:28 AM