PDA

View Full Version : Advice for improvement

04-25-2002, 10:34 AM
Need your experienced input to elevate my game? I started playing pool about 7 years ago at age 48 by joing the APA. Got hooked on the game/competition and have worked hard to improve. I am now a 7 level and can beat probably 50% of other 7 levels(our city has approx 150 teams). The top players/gamblers in our city don't play league as expected so I gamble occasionally with them(small wagers)in ring games sometimes and on occasion come out ahead. Trying to further improve I have been playing a former top player and professional gambler at his house once or twice a week for affordable wagers(for me). We play even(9 ball)and he wins 90%+ of the time. My question is should I be playing him because each session we play and I lose depression sets in and I wonder why I even attempt to play this game. What should I do? A local former professional player told me when I started that I was too old to ever expect to be a top player (locally). Do you think he was right? I apologize for the long post.

Doctor_D
04-25-2002, 10:43 AM
Good afternoon:

Everyone has limits and/or limitations. However, until such tiume as you have exhausted all training and practice options and/or opportunities, there is always room for improvement. You might want to seek out either a Touring Professional or a BCA Certified Instructor for some indepth coaching and training. I have also heard that Randy-G's pool school in Texas is excellent.

Dr. D.

04-25-2002, 10:50 AM
Hi Striker,
You are following the path to become a champion by doing battle with the stronger player. The "You shouldn't play that guy" phrase is a big time pet peeve of mine. Any person that tells you you are crazy, stupid etc. for playing a better player is a player that has given up on their pursuit to be the best they can be. Don't let them affect you mentally.