PDA

View Full Version : cues for (small) women

Jea
03-17-2004, 12:09 PM
Hello,
Im only 4,9 ft in length and most of the cues I tested were too long and heavy for me.
Does anybody knows where I can get a shorter and lighter cue? May I can get a custom cue? Or a special women cue?
Any tips are highly appreciated.
thanks in advance!

Wally_in_Cincy
03-17-2004, 12:29 PM
you can get a custom cue made any length you want.

I knew a gal your size who played. With a 58" cue she was holding it in front of the wrap. That's not good.

Scott Lee
03-17-2004, 12:32 PM
Jea...As an instructor, I don't believe that you need a shorter length cue. I work with children as young as 6, and they are using regular length cues. Weight is another thing. Cue weight is a subjective thing, and you would likely be quite comfortable with a 16 or17 ounce cue. If you absolutely feel that you need a shorter cue, Stealth Cues carries short-length, normal weighted 1-piece cues.

Scott Lee

Wally_in_Cincy
03-17-2004, 12:37 PM
Stealth makes a 52" cue

SpiderMan
03-17-2004, 12:57 PM
Jea,

I'm not sure that a lighter cue will make the most sense for you. Cue weight is somewhat personal preference, but it is generally confined to a pretty narrow range (centered around 18 or 19 ounces) because it's the cue mass interacting with the cue-ball mass that must feel right. The weight/size of the person stroking the cue is probably not such a factor. 150-lb men and 300-lb men don't use cues in proportion to their differences in mass.

Length may be another matter entirely. You might want a slightly shorter cue in order to avoid gripping it too near the joint. It could be that the cues you tried felt butt-heavy because you had to grip them far forward.

Is table height an issue? Can you hold and stroke the cue in a normal stance (vertical forearm, parallel upper arm) without the cue dragging on the rail?

SpiderMan

Jea
03-17-2004, 01:17 PM
thanks for your fast response.