PDA

View Full Version : Straight Pool

cueman1973
04-02-2004, 12:33 AM
It seems that this beautful game of skill and finesse is starting to fall by the wayside. Atleast where I live. When I started playing pool seriously back in 91 I seem to remember there was always a game of straight pool going on in the room. Has anybody else noticed this change?

Rod
04-02-2004, 12:40 AM
Yes, for about 20 years.

Popcorn
04-02-2004, 02:26 AM
I used to be a straight pool nut, but I have to admit, I would rather play one pocket, 9-ball or bank pool any more. I do play straight pool almost every day, but only by myself, put on some music and practice for a few hours, it's nice. Competitively though, I like the other games. I don't like sitting in the chair for 30 minutes waiting for a shot, or having a guy run out on me. I like the more personal back and forth battle of the short rack games. It is definitely not a good spectator game, I wouldn't count on it coming back any time soon. It possibly could be a little overrated also as the consummate test of skill. I have seen to many players that don't really play the game have no problem running balls.

Maybe not very pretty, but with good results. A lot of players like to gage straight pool by Mosconi, Crane and so on. But not all the champions played that kind of picture perfect game. Balsas would break the rack and run the balls off in what seemed like no particular pattern and bang open the next rack. You could never guess what Lassiter was going to do. You would be sitting there watching and always be turning to the guy next to you saying, "why did he do that"? I think the game can be played with well thought patterns, or just get most of the balls off any old way working toward the next break shot, each way with good results, as long as you follow certain rules regarding running balls

Keith Talent
04-02-2004, 02:55 AM