PDA

View Full Version : Frozen ball rule



Wally_in_Cincy
04-28-2004, 09:41 AM
Rule question.

5-ball is frozen. 1-ball is frozen. CB hits 5-ball then hits 1-ball.

CB does not hit a cushion. 5-ball does not hit another cushion. 1-ball does not hit another cushion.

Is this a foul?

http://endeavor.med.nyu.edu/~wei/pool/pooltable2.html

START(
%Ae5D1%BL7P8%CJ5O4%DL7N1%Er8N8%FK6P1%GK6N8%HM7N8%I L7O4%JK6M5
%KJ5P7%LJ5N2%MK6Q4%NJ5R0%OJ5M0%Pg9V9%Uq2O7%Vh9V2%W f7E8%Xq0N0
)END

Wally_in_Cincy
04-28-2004, 09:42 AM
and has anybody ever actually seen this happen?

Barbara
04-28-2004, 09:47 AM
Wally,

If neither the 5 nor the 1 contacted a cushion other than the ones they are frozen to, and the cue ball failed to contact any cushion, then yes, this is a foul.

Barbara

Barbara
04-28-2004, 09:53 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Wally_in_Cincy:</font><hr> and has anybody ever actually seen this happen? <hr /></blockquote>

Nope.

Barbara

Fred Agnir
04-28-2004, 09:54 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Wally_in_Cincy:</font><hr> Rule question.

5-ball is frozen. 1-ball is frozen. CB hits 5-ball then hits 1-ball.

CB does not hit a cushion. 5-ball does not hit another cushion. 1-ball does not hit another cushion.

Is this a foul?

http://endeavor.med.nyu.edu/~wei/pool/pooltable2.html

START(
%Ae5D1%BL7P8%CJ5O4%DL7N1%Er8N8%FK6P1%GK6N8%HM7N8%I L7O4%JK6M5
%KJ5P7%LJ5N2%MK6Q4%NJ5R0%OJ5M0%Pg9V9%Uq2O7%Vh9V2%W f7E8%Xq0N0
)END <hr /></blockquote>Yes it's a foul, if they're both declared frozen before the shot is taken.

Fred

Tom_In_Cincy
04-28-2004, 02:01 PM
Wally,

You are on "one foul" already, and the 5 ball is NOT touching the cushion, but, is within a balls distance from touching the cushion... and you shoot with the same results.... is this a foul in 14.1?

See special rules for 14.1