PDA

View Full Version : call the 9 ball?



YourHero
05-08-2004, 04:19 PM
it's my understanding that when playing nine ball, as long as it's your turn and you hit the ball in play, whichever numbered ball you need to hit, and the nine goes in, you win right?

well on ESPN the other day, i was watching the 9 ball tournament, and the players, each time they were about to pocket the nine, they called the pocket. are the rules different for that league, or is it because there's a prize involved? or maybe they do it out of habit?

Troy
05-08-2004, 04:50 PM
Generally, there's no need to call the 9-Ball. Having said that, there are occasional televised tourneys that require "call the 9". You just happened to be watching a particular event that required calling the 9. No, that's not a "league".

Troy