PDA

View Full Version : Bank Pool Instuction by one of the Best

Tom_In_Cincy
05-01-2002, 05:25 PM
John Brumback of Kentucky and ranked in the top 50 of the world's best players, and in the top 5 of the world's best bank shot players, gave a clinic here in Cincinnati.

I have been banking wrong for 30+ years... John showed 12 of us how to develop bank shot skills and how to give your bank shots a better chance of getting into the desired pocket.

Do any of you remember the "impossible Bank shot" of the ball just one diamond (AND one ball's width away from the rail) away from the side pocket on the foot spot side of the table.. and the cue ball on the foot spot?

Banking it into the opposite side poket is almost impossible.. and for me its been a long time challenge..

Well this is the shot he started his clinic with.. and said, that you should practice this shot to become aware of speed, stroke and angle.. because all the next shots will be based off what you learn from this shot.. BOY.. was he right..

I started my practice session last nite by making this shot 4 straight times and about 20 out of 50 attempts.

Stop shot speed, and cue ball moves about 8 inches after contact, center right, smoothe stroke.

OB will come off side rail and curve into side pocket..

Try it..

05-01-2002, 09:04 PM
Tom...
Could you lay out that bank shot on the RSB pool table for us? (or I should say me...) John's advice sounds good and basic...and I wish I had been part of your group

thanks in advance...RGC in SC

Chris Cass
05-01-2002, 09:06 PM
Hi Tom,

I've heard of the shot but it's been a while and can't get the ob placement down. Can you put this on the WEI Table?

Regards,

C.C.

Rod
05-01-2002, 10:23 PM
Chris, The way it's explained this is the shot. It's not bad here but 1/2 balls width towards the side and it gets difficult.
START(
%AU3E2%PN8O5

)END