PDA

View Full Version : In need of some help with English

zacafamn
05-13-2004, 12:34 AM
Got a quick question for some of the more experienced players out there but first some background. Started playing pool when I was a teen and stopped for about 3 years. Now at 21 I am picking it back up and have found I am a little better then I was before. I have a cheapy sterling cause I have a tendency if I don't do as well as I want to then I will give up on something, I think thats what happened when I was a teen. Anyway, I played in my first 9 ball tournament the other night and was beat pretty bad (it wasn't an amateur tourny. The German Bundes league (more professional then your average joe) played. Military man station in Germany USAF) I got a few wins on guys I thought were a lot better then me. Ok now to the question. I think I am at a stand still with my game. I would say I am an beginner to intermediate player. I can more or less run a rack of nine. I practice I would say about 4 hours a week. Thanks not just hitting the balls around. That’s working on my stroke and hitting shots a lot, especially longer ones, to train myself to hit them consistently. I am intimidated by English because of the few times I tried it for position I have missed horribly. Does anyone have any advice for someone who wants to learn and practice English effectively?
Thanks for the help in advance.
Zac

pooltchr
05-13-2004, 06:35 AM
http://www.duke.edu/~rulmer/poolterms.htm

Understanding what happens when you strike the cue ball other than with a center ball hit is the first step.
Check out the link above to see all the different things that happen when you use english. Once you understand this, then you can start to make the necessary adjustments.

Chris Cass
05-13-2004, 06:50 AM