PDA

View Full Version : 9ball vs 8ball-which is the harder game

bluewolf
06-27-2004, 07:23 PM
I have kind of been wondering about this for awhile. Is one easier than the other or does it depend on the person, where their strengths and weaknesses lie?

9ball seems a bit easier for me than 8ball and I am not really sure why. Like if I play a non runout 9ball player, says someone who typically outs in 2 innings or three, I seem to do better with them than when I play the same skill player in 8ball.

So which, do you think is harder and why?

Laura

DialUp
06-27-2004, 08:21 PM
For me, 8 Ball is easier. Most likely it is because I have been palying it for several years and only started playing Nine 4 or 5 years ago. IMO, the better player almost always wins at 8 Ball.

So I guess 9 Ball would be the easier game for most people because of the slop and having your opponent do some work for you.

8 is a much funner game though. There is more strategy and staying in line is not as important /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Jimmy B
06-28-2004, 01:33 AM
9-ball is easier in concept yet harder in execution. Both have their own strategies that need to be learned but to say which is harder is a tough question. It is easier to B&R in 8-ball, does that make it easier??? Who knows.

JB

landshark1002000
06-28-2004, 02:04 AM
Hi Bluewolf:

Two very different games; makes it hard to say which is harder.

8 ball is a strategy game, complex... like chess.

9 ball is a skill game, much simpler.... by analogy it's like checkers in complexity.

8 ball involves choices you never have in 9 ball. (Like which ball to shoot next.)

9 ball is like a video game where you make a mistake and your opponent plays from exactly where you stopped (and you both have the same balls!)