PDA

View Full Version : Playing the Ghost

JDB
06-29-2004, 08:53 PM
How many people actually play the ghost for practice? How many times do you beat the ghost on average?

I am just curious. I have only beaten the ghost once myself but I don't practice against it often. I had been playing lousy for the last month or so and I started practicing and felt pretty good so I played the ghost tonight. Lost 11 - 7, but really felt like I played well anyway. So I was just curious if anyone else practiced against the ghost and how well other people did against it.

Tom_In_Cincy
06-29-2004, 09:05 PM
I like to practice drills to get into stroke. I have a practice routine that I can't get thru unless I get into stroke.

The routine takes about 30 solid minutes and has 4 specific shots that include left and right english.

Once I complete the warmup, I play the ghost. On average, in 10 games, I can usually win at least 2 on a good day and up to 4 on a great day.

I have seen some great players play the ghost as a practice routine and usualy win more than 50% of the time. But, there are some pretty good players in the pool room where I hang out.

JDB
06-29-2004, 09:27 PM
Yep, Hard Times, I have heard there were a few good players there...lol.

Maybe my game is actually coming back to me after a few terrible months. I just played another quick race to 5 and this time won 5 - 0. Shorter race, but still felt pretty good to finally be in stroke.

tateuts
06-29-2004, 09:58 PM
It's good offensive practice and good ring game practice. In 9 ball, if I'm breaking well on normal tables, the ghost has no case. On very tight tables it's a war.

Chris

Jimmy B
06-30-2004, 02:48 AM