PDA

View Full Version : "Moral dilemma" (opinions wanted)

heater451
05-06-2002, 06:33 PM
Okay, I've been thinking about this for a little while, and I thought I'd toss it out, and see what the board has to say:

I recently started playing tournaments, in order to increase my competitive edge.

Previously, I've always played for fun, including league (I don't really consider league play as full competition). Because of this, I also always drank--I considered it a side-effect of playing in bars (over pool halls, if you can appreciate the difference).

Well, since I generally play (and drink) much less than I used to, alcohol has a more detrimental effect on my game than before. I rarely have more than three drinks--and two is the norm--but I'm thinking about dropping it all together for the weekly tourneys.

This brings me to my problem. . . .Since the tourneys are often only $10-15 to buy in and most of it is supposed to go in the pot, I feel like I'm not supporting the places I go very much, especially since I'm not a regular at any of them (not incl. the place I play on league). Should I feel guilty, about not drinking/spending? Heck, sometimes I eat at these places, more to "give something back" than because I'm hungry (and I know there's not much margin in the food).

I know that many people show up a tourneys, just to make a grab for the cash, and this is exactly what I'm trying to avoid. I mean, if everyone did that, then why would any place want to host a tourney?--I can't believe that they make that much $ from hosting. And, why would regs want to play (they are usually the ones who will still drink and play), if anyone can come in, throw in a pittance, and walk out with the cash, w/o caring about the place enough to support it?