PDA

View Full Version : Changing Stance

whojoedaddy
07-06-2004, 01:33 PM
I have been playing pool off and on for about 2 years. Well about a week ago I ran my first rack. Here is the thing though. I didn't use my normal stance. I had been playing with a stance I read in a book just after a started. With that stance I could run about 6-7 balls average. I have been messing around with another stance (more of a snooker stance I think ...) for about a year. I use it when I get in a rut and sometimes just to mess around, but never seriously. I always thought I played better with that stance, but I thought it was just that whole 'you change one thing and your game suddenly improves dramatically for 10 mins, but then your back to what you were' thing. I used that same stance in a game against another player, who the week before (with my previous stance) we were about even, and I ran the table a few times.

Needless to say, I'm keeping that stance. I find the previous stance made it hard to put my eye over the shaft and I was compensating by tilting it inward. It's kind of annoying that the stance I've been working with all this time is useless. I could have switched earlier and had better practices.

What do you guys/gals think?

Sid_Vicious
07-06-2004, 01:46 PM
I changed to the stance that CJ Wiley promotes, kind of a kin to the snooker players. His take is to have a solid foundation, one that you'd keep balance if somebody bumped you from any angle. I know there are many good players who do near 45 degrees, and even stiffen one or both legs, but I'd wager they would have been better sooner if they had done it CJ's way when learning. JM2C sid

Rod
07-06-2004, 02:15 PM