PDA

View Full Version : Choosing the Right Cue

wantsumrice
07-08-2004, 11:01 PM
First off, I want to introduce myself, I'm Ivan and I've been playing pool for a little more than 7 years. I'm 17, turning 18 in November, and very glad to find a forum where I can chat about pool. Now moving on...

I've been playing with $25-50 Walmart cues for those 7 years, and I have finally decided to promote myself and get a new, and improved cue. What would be a good cue, around $150-200? I use a lot of english, which might affect what kind of cue i want right?

Thanks,
~ivan

Cueless Joey
07-08-2004, 11:14 PM
Buy a cheap Viking and some lessons.

woody_968
07-09-2004, 12:38 AM
For 200 you should be able to find a cue that will serve you well, best thing you could do is try as many diffferent ones as you can. Dont get too hung up on trying to get something that looks fancy, if it has a bunch of inlays and seems to be too good of a deal it is probably a good looking cue that will still play like $%#& /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Cues I would recommend in no particular order.
Mcdermott, Joss, Viking, Hubler, Falcon.

Your best bet is if you can find one used, if not most of these should have basic cues in your pricerange.

Now for the one I would really recommend /ccboard/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

http://www.madisonbobs.com/

This guy makes one of the best cues I have ever played with! IMO if you can get one of his low end cues for close to what you want to spend you wont be sorry. I have one of his hustlers and one of his higher end cues and they both play the same.

Jimmy B
07-09-2004, 01:50 AM
Stop using a lot of english, at your age after playing 7 years you should be close to pro speed, I would guess that english is slowing your progression. Pick up a $300 Joss on E-bay for $200 and practice, practice,practice

JB

buddha162
07-09-2004, 04:53 AM