PDA

View Full Version : 9-ball Breaking tips needed

jbrideaux
07-10-2004, 06:41 PM
I have been playing snooker and 8-ball for almost 26 years and I have pretty much finalized my break for them. I recently have been trying 9-ball and I have been all over the table trying to get a break where I can actually sink a ball without the CB leaving the table or scratching. It doesn't seem to matter what spin I put on it or how hard i hit it.. nothing is consistent. and help or direction on articles would be appreciated. I have just read the articles posted by "Mike" on generating power and breaking but I would like to hear more from anyone that has any good tips .. Thanx
James ...

stickman
07-10-2004, 08:52 PM
No spin! Hit the head ball perfectly square, and park the cueball in the center of the table. Experiment where you break from along the front line of the kitchen.

Frank_Glenn
07-10-2004, 10:10 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote jbrideaux:</font><hr> I have been playing snooker and 8-ball for almost 26 years and I have pretty much finalized my break for them. I recently have been trying 9-ball and I have been all over the table trying to get a break where I can actually sink a ball without the CB leaving the table or scratching. It doesn't seem to matter what spin I put on it or how hard i hit it.. nothing is consistent. and help or direction on articles would be appreciated. I have just read the articles posted by "Mike" on generating power and breaking but I would like to hear more from anyone that has any good tips .. Thanx
James ... <hr /></blockquote>

Don't jack way up. If the cueball is in the air when it hits the head ball, it tends to jump off the table. Any time you jack up, the cueball jumps. I hit with center ball and try to hit the one full. The cueball will jump back about 6-8" and stop when done properly. It will stay right there unless another ball hits it.

stickman
07-10-2004, 10:25 PM