PDA

View Full Version : Getting Back That Old Magic...

poolplayer1988
07-17-2004, 11:37 PM
I've been playing pool now off and on for over 15 years, starting when I was in my mid-teens. In my early twenties, I could run 4-5 racks of nine ball in a row on a pretty good day without missing. As the years have passed and I have taken time off from pool for various things and have a full-time job now, my game has declined. Now, on a good day I can run 2-3 racks without missing. My problem is; how do I get back to where I was before and beyond? I was learning and getting better at a breakneck pace in my heyday, and now it seems like I can't do crap, no matter how much I practice. I do drills, I watch tapes of the pros play, I've watched myself play, but I can't quite put my finger on what the problem is. Don't get me wrong, I'm still no slouch, since then I've added better defense to my game and better shot-making, but I can't seem to run the racks like I used to. I win by using more offense and defense now. Anybody got any ideas? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!!!

Doug Talbot
"the White Elephant"

Chris Cass
07-18-2004, 01:22 AM
Hi Poolplayer,

Sounds like your missing that Killer Instinct. That will come back but not till your provoked into it. I suggest record your drills and keep it goal oriented. Only, work on your basic fundementals and stroke. Do this for 1 mth and get as many hrs in as possible.

Don't do anything else but drill for that mth. Also drill your break. That means everything in 9 ball. Try about two hrs a week for that mth. Then, take a few days off. Take some small tourney event and attend. See, how you fair and find out what you need to work on next.

Doesn't have to be a tourney but you do have to compete with someone on a format that will make you have to shoot to win. Maybe, a match up?