PDA

View Full Version : Does the age of the tip make a difference? (long)

05-08-2002, 07:56 PM
I recently started shooting some pool after over a 20 year layoff. Does the age of the tip matter? I remember always fussing with my tips. I would always miscue or get the sound of a miscue at least a few times each playing session. So I was always trying to rough up the tip with a coin or something. When I played at the IL. Billiard Club I used some kind of a diamond file or rasp they had there. Back then I was mostly using a Spain cue with Le Professional tips. And I played in a bar league with a Viking. I don't know what tip it came with. My cues still have those original tips. I only played less then a year back then after a 10 year layoff since high school play. And I played mostly 3 cushion billiards. Mostly because my friend only shot 3 cushion. But partly because I never seemed to be able to play as good as I did in high school. And that really wasn't very good.

I've read the back threads on tips here. And I've read some articles in magazines or on internet sites. Everyone always seemed to be comparing their tips by saying they are as good as a Moori. I received a couple emails telling me the sender used Moori tips. Either Medium/Hard or Hard. And they said they are excellent at holding the chalk. So I figure I will start with a Moori and then maybe later try the Talisman Pro and then maybe a Triangle. Those are the three tips I've read the best things about. And most articles I've read by pros, suggest using a hard tip.