PDA

View Full Version : Wrap or no Wrap?

rooster
07-27-2004, 02:40 PM
I've been playing for 17 yrs. with a wrap always loved it felt great real comfortable now it seems that a cue with no wrap feels better. Although my hand slides a little when i make my final stroke. I just wonder if it will effect my cue ball control. All feedback is appreciated. Thank you

Bob_Jewett
07-27-2004, 03:08 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote rooster:</font><hr> I've been playing for 17 yrs. with a wrap always loved it felt great real comfortable now it seems that a cue with no wrap feels better. Although my hand slides a little when i make my final stroke. I just wonder if it will effect my cue ball control. All feedback is appreciated. Thank you <hr /></blockquote>
Many wraps are far more slippery than the typical wood finish on unwrapped cue sticks. I think your hand shouldn't slip. Carom players use roll-on rubber wraps.

woody_968
07-27-2004, 03:20 PM
No wrap. I hate wrap. All that boom boom boom, and the fast talking that I cant understand. Oops, thought you was talkin bout music /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I played with no wrap for many years and have in the last year changed to a wrap. I can play with either, but my hands dont tend to sweat. I think for those with sweaty hands they may like a wrap better, as moisture could make the cue slide more with no wrap.

rooster
07-27-2004, 03:23 PM
Yes i agree that an irish linen wrap for me gets moist and slippery. But i was using an old mcdermott cue with a nylon wrap and it was like a super grip. It just got to be uncomfortable will i lose any control because i gave up my grip? Thank you for your reply Bob.

tateuts
07-27-2004, 03:37 PM
Linen is actually the slippery wrap - it allows your hand to slide.

Modern wrapless with the urethane finishes are sticky and make slipping the cue difficult.

Personally, I like leather. It's kind of in-between.

Chris

BLACKHEART
07-27-2004, 04:12 PM