PDA

View Full Version : Wrap feels gritty, what should I do?

woody_968
07-27-2004, 07:20 PM
Within the last few months I started playing with a cue that has a wrap. I recently noticed that there is a small prortion on the wrap (about an inche wide all the way around) that feels a little gritty, or rougher than the rest of the wrap. I dont know if it is just dirty or something else. I normally dont use powder, but occasionaly lately I have, could this have caused it? I would like it to feel as smooth or slick as possible.

Any suggestions on making it smooth again? I did a quick search and found a few cleaning recommendations, but thought I would ask some oppinions first.

Thanks

Rod
07-27-2004, 07:29 PM
I've cleaned ever wrap I've ever owned with denatured alcohol. Use light and go in the direction of the wrap. What you probably have is a scuffed area that might be rubbed down with brown or waxed paper once again in the direction of the wrap.

If that fails take it to a repair guy with a lathe. It just takes a couple of minutes to polish up the wrap. Or if you prefer let them clean it to.

Rod

tateuts
07-27-2004, 08:27 PM
Moisture raises the linen fibers, making it feel rough. The fix is what Rod said.

Chris

stickman
07-27-2004, 10:29 PM
Rod, when the fibers raise up from cleaning or moisture, I use bow string wax. A clean towel used in the direction of the wrap is then used to soak up and remove the excess. It does a great job of making the wrap lay down, but will feel tacky if the excess is not completely removed.

Jimmy B
07-28-2004, 02:09 AM
First of all a new wrap is cheap if it's that big of a deal, but before I did that I would just use plane old wax paper and rub it over the whole wrap then burnish it with a towel. After it heats up the wrap should look slick and smooth. Many cue people will tell you not to use wax or wax paper because it traps the dirt in, but I have never had this trouble, I love the smooth feel and wax all my wraps.

JB

SteveEllis