PDA

View Full Version : How I lost weight. Really long!

woody_968
07-27-2004, 09:31 PM
First let me say that I am not a Doctor, and dont claim that my eating habbits are healthy by any means.

My history - I was a VERY large kid, dont remember exact figures but I know I was over 200lbs in the sixth grade. I have fought weight problems pretty much my whole life. When I was 17 I was hit by a train and had my mouth wired shut for six weeks, obviously lost alot of weight during that time. I stayed thin untill I got married, then I started putting the weight on again. At one time I was up around 240 and felt terrible, but didnt know what to do. I had tried a few diets, worked out from time to time, but felt like I couldnt get it under control.

Then my wife gave me a book, The Seven Secrets of Slim People (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0061013382/qid=1090983212/sr=8-6/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i6_xgl14/104-3850918-2617535?v=glance&s=books&n=507846) I can tell the first time I read it (easy book to read) I thought to myself this is total BS and there is no way this could work. But it got me thinking about a few things and I thought I would give it a try.

Let me say that for the most part I dont think diets work, they may help for a while but in the long haul they do nothing but make people's weight go up and down. The book talks about this, how we cut back calories and loose weight. But too many times we cut back too far so that when we start eating again our bodies begin to store them and we just gain the weight back. One problem with being on a diet is when you do over eat we feel like we blew it and just forget the whole thing. So I never allowed myself to say I was on a diet, I simply changed the way I ate.

I didnt want to start any type of excercise that I didnt want to do the rest of my life, I walked while playing golf but other than that I didnt excercise at all.