PDA

View Full Version : Foul question...



GStrong
07-31-2004, 10:33 AM
Hi there... just a quick question... The game is 9 ball... you kick at the lowest ball and make clean contact (Off the rail into your object ball). After the kick, neither ball hits a rail. Is that a foul? Thanks in advance. Gary

shooter72283
07-31-2004, 10:38 AM
Yes, that is a foul. A ball has to contact the rail after the cueball hits the object ball.

1a2b3c
07-31-2004, 10:38 AM
I think it depends on the rules but in APA its a foul.

GStrong
07-31-2004, 10:41 AM
Thanks.... I thought so...

Bob_Jewett
07-31-2004, 11:52 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote GStrong:</font><hr> Hi there... just a quick question... The game is 9 ball... you kick at the lowest ball and make clean contact (Off the rail into your object ball). After the kick, neither ball hits a rail. Is that a foul? Thanks in advance. Gary <hr /></blockquote>
I think that in all rule sets for pool, this is a foul and has been for 50 years, at least. Snooker is different.

SecaucusFats
07-31-2004, 08:35 PM
It's a foul. On every legal shot the shooter must cause the cueball or an object ball to contact a rail ( a shot into a pocket counts as a 'rail'). A push shot in nine ball is the only exception.

SF

Bob_Jewett
08-01-2004, 10:46 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote SecaucusFats:</font><hr> A push shot in nine ball is the only exception. <hr /></blockquote>
I assume you meant "push out" since a push shot is always a foul in all games.