PDA

View Full Version : Home Pool Table Advice Needed

Shiba
08-10-2004, 06:18 PM
I am looking to get a pool table for our house and I am curious as to the quality of two different brands and the pros and cons to each.

The two we are looking into are the Fischer Dutchess and one of the entry models by Olhausen. Either way, I am forced to go with a 7' table due to space constraints.

I plan to spend about $2000 and want something that will last and that is of quality for home use. I do not need the best table out there since I am not a professional but I also do not want something that will sag and break either.

Any help here is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

bill190
08-11-2004, 12:21 AM
Well if you're getting a 7 ft. table, you can also get a bar "coin-op" table. Maybe for less, I don't know.

I prefer a ball return and have a modified coin-op table where the balls return without being stopped by the coin-op device. Also I use a magnetic cue ball (high quality) and it returns to the other side of the table. I shoot in a lot of balls when practicing, so the ball return saves my feet. I get enough excersize playing and practicing!

Also my table has a "one piece slate". This is easier to level than tables which have several separate pieces of slate. May want to ask about that. Italian slate is best, and be sure it is slate.

Here is the Valley (coin-op) web site FYI...
http://www.vdlp.org

woody_968
08-11-2004, 09:04 AM
Most 7' tables should be one piece slate. Olhausen makes a good table, but I am not familiar with the exact one you are talking about. As suggested, for a good playing table you might want to look at a bar table. I dont know what they run, but if you could be lucky enough to come accross a used diamond they are IMO the best table out there.

Wally_in_Cincy
08-11-2004, 09:07 AM