PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Else Do This?

nhp
08-16-2004, 04:25 AM
Whenever I watch a pro player, when I go and practice that day or the next, I have a tendency to copy their styles. I tend to copy the rythm of their strokes mainly, I usually don't change much else. The other day I watched Alex Pagulayan beat Antonio Lining on an Accustats tape, and I was so impressed with Alex's game, that I desperately wanted his mechanics. So I studied them, and copied them. Suddenly my game jumped up a notch or two. I started figuring out alot of stuff wrong with me, like alignment with my cue, etc. Anyone else ever do this? I tried Bustamante's style a while ago, and the results weren't pretty.

Fasteddy7
08-16-2004, 07:51 AM
Yes, I do this on occasion but its not intentional. Sometimes I find myself shooting a certain shot and afterwards I say to my self "heh, I shot that shot just like ....... would shoot it"

Chris Cass
08-16-2004, 08:07 AM
Hi nhp,

I know I have Carmine Sardo down patt. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Regards,

C.C.

ras314
08-16-2004, 08:45 AM
Well, I tried Keith McCready's stroke. Once. /ccboard/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

highsea
08-16-2004, 02:21 PM
I find myself doing this too. I like to emulate Allison's mechanics and precice stroke. Usually after watching her play, I will play better for a little while, but it doesn't really stick. /ccboard/images/graemlins/frown.gif

-CM

9 Ball Girl
08-16-2004, 02:30 PM
Dammit Chris you beat me to it! LOL

I find myself playing a notch or two better after watching some good pool playing--not necessarily Pros as Valley Forge can attest to that--but it happens moreso when I'm watching it in person. If it's a tape or on ESPN, I have to watch for a while to get that notch thing going.

Rod
08-16-2004, 04:14 PM
When I was young, not this century, lol I watched a couple of good players that had a similar style. Mostly I used parts from one player. Later on I saw Jimmy moore play and it all blended well together.