PDA

View Full Version : Straight Pool books...

nAz
08-17-2004, 09:53 PM
Since I started playing this game in a league I decided I better learn all I can and quickly so I do not look too foolish. I am looking to buy at least one of these, G. Fels' Advanced Pool or Capelle's Play Your Best Straight Pool, which is a better buy and can Fels book be found easily?
as always all opinions are welcomed /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

SecaucusFats
08-17-2004, 11:44 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote nAz:</font><hr> Since I started playing this game in a league I decided I better learn all I can and quickly so I do not look too foolish. I am looking to buy at least one of these, G. Fels' Advanced Pool or Capelle's Play Your Best Straight Pool, which is a better buy and can Fels book be found easily?
as always all opinions are welcomed /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif <hr /></blockquote>

I have both books,and IMO,Capelle's book is far and away the better choice. There is one flaw, a recurrent typo where 'fi' appears when 1/2 should have..i.e. "use a fi tip of right / left english.

SF

Wally_in_Cincy
08-18-2004, 06:34 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote nAz:</font><hr> .... I am looking to buy at least one of these, G. Fels' Advanced Pool or Capelle's Play Your Best Straight Pool, which is a better buy and can Fels book be found easily?
<hr /></blockquote>

Capelle's book is very comprehensive. He has a whole chapter just on safeties. I think it's 25 or 30 bucks.

Fels book is readily available for about 12 bucks I think. It's worth reading but it's been a while since I read it so I don't remember a lot.

Arthur Cranfeld's "The Straight Pool Bible" is an easy read and is jam-packed with good info. about 10 bucks.

socrates
08-18-2004, 08:39 AM
Agree with Wally's recommendations.

Ray Martin's 99 critical shots is also very informative regarding straight pool.