PDA

View Full Version : First league night tonight... I'm really nervous

Beast1284
10-04-2004, 08:15 AM
Well since I turned 21 in June, this will be my first shot at a real league of any kind. I have been shooting for 5 years now, and have been serious for about 2. I play weekly 8ball tournaments at my university and always place 1st through 4th out of about 20 people.

But tonight is my real league night, and I'm super nervous. I'll be going with my mentor/teacher/friend and he'll be signing me up and introducing me to my team members, so it's good that I have someone to get me in the door. Another thing that makes it even more nerve racking is that my mentor has been talking me up to my team members about how good I am. They have even bumped one of their regulars to be a sub to fit me in as a starter. No pressure there...

I guess my reason for posting is to say "Hey" and to ask of any advice you have for a rookie playing in their first league match tonight.

Thanks for any comments.

Mike Pastore

Perk
10-04-2004, 08:22 AM
If you play in alot of tourneys, league should be a breeze. Dont get so hyped up. You your energy to focus. Go into tonight prepared to play some pool and have fun. After tonight, you can adjust your expectations based on the result of your first night.

As far as your bud hyping you up, use that as confidence. If he has watched you play before, and he has played in this league, he feels you will do good, so dont let that added pressure go to your head. Use it as CONFIDENCE!

Fred Agnir
10-04-2004, 08:24 AM
First League Night (http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&c2coff=1&selm=01bd2073%24875a1e80%24c309ddcc%40P 19996.powercerv.com&rnum=1)

Fred

Deeman2
10-04-2004, 08:36 AM
You apparently have a good game, just lean on that. Take your time, shoot smoothly and enjoy the experience before you have to deal with league politics and such.