PDA

View Full Version : Youth in pool rooms

bomber
10-06-2004, 10:08 AM
I have been around pool for a long time and I started going to pool rooms since i was 14 or 15. Do you guys/gals enjoy seeing young people in the pool room you frequent or would you rather see them stay away.

bomber
10-06-2004, 10:10 AM
ill be the first to reply to my own query. I am a teacher now and I am only 23. I think kids should come to the pool rooms with parents/responsible guardians in the afternoons or during the days on weekends. Parents really should be involved if their child is going to be active in billiards. We all must admit that some pool rooms are not the place for kids. Parents should scope out the rooms and decide on the times and places their kids should play.

Popcorn
10-06-2004, 10:17 AM
I have no problem with it. It has been my experience that they seem to act more mature when adults then around people their own age. Like you said I would not want kids hanging around a biker bar but a nice billiard room is fine. When I was a kid you could not go in a pool room unless you were 21, accompanied by a parent, Had written permission from the parent on file in the room, or were in the military, it was a state law. Hard to believe anyone learned to play back then.

Wally_in_Cincy
10-06-2004, 10:19 AM
Teenagers really don't bother me much unless they are punk teenage boys. After watching my punk nephew throughout his teenage years I have developed a severe hatred of punk teenage boys who think they are bad-asses.

The place I usually go, you have to be 18 or with a parent. The places that cater to kids I rarely go to.

landshark77
10-06-2004, 10:53 AM