PDA

View Full Version : 14.1 Straight Pool

trailboss
10-12-2004, 11:58 AM
I am starting to really like this game! Please remember I am an absolute Newbie at it. I do have a rulebook. The Q I have is what if the cueball or last ball on the table is in the racking zone??? I just don't know what to do here. I keep reading the rule book but it dosen't cover this contingentcy.

bsmutz
10-12-2004, 12:05 PM
Most rules that I have seen have a chart at the bottom showing what to do with the balls left at the end of a rack. If the object ball is in the racking area (rack of balls can't be placed without moving the ball) then it goes in the rack with the rest. If the cue ball is there, it goes behind the head string. Note that if the object ball is in the way of the rack but wouldn't have to be moved on account of the balls, then you would move it temporarily until you rack, then replace it where it was.

Wally_in_Cincy
10-12-2004, 12:09 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote trailboss:</font><hr> I am starting to really like this game!

<font color="blue">It's my favorite </font color>

Please remember I am an absolute Newbie at it. I do have a rulebook. The Q I have is what if the cueball

<font color="blue">if the cb is in the rack you get BIH behind the headstring. this is actually a good strategy to employ if you think about it. </font color>

or last ball on the table is in the racking zone???

<font color="blue">if the last ball is in the rack it gets spotted on the head spot. this is a bad thing usually /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I have seen some guys in that situation call safe and pocket the ball. it gets spotted in that scenario and your opponent will usually play a soft safe off the full rack. that's usually a bad thing too.

or you can pocket the ball and play safe off the rack. that's what i would do.
</font color>

I just don't know what to do here. I keep reading the rule book but it dosen't cover this contingentcy. <hr /></blockquote>