PDA

View Full Version : Table Advice

Knyte260
10-17-2004, 11:25 PM
Well, I'm pretty sure I've read every possible thing there is to read about peoples opinions on the top tables in the market, but I decided I'd post a thread as some of the things I read were archived and quite old.

I have been playing for about a year, and pretty intensely for the last 6 months. Usually play 6 nights a week, atleast 4 hours on a table per night but usually more. I'm pretty mindset on putting a table in my basement, and already removed a bar and moved a pole to accomodate a 9 foot.

I would like to get the best possible deal out there, even if I need to wait, on the best possible table. I've pretty much narrowed my search down to a Gold Crown I/II/IV, Diamond Pro with relaxed cut pockets, or a Gabriels signature pro. Whatever I end up getting, my NUMBER ONE concern is that it plays LIKE NEW. If this means I absolutely must buy new, please tell me. I don't want to buy a used Gold Crown and have it roll off on me. This concern has made me very sketchy on buying an older used Gold Crown.

I like the Diamond professional, but I don't feel right buying a brand new one, and there seems to be VERY few of these tables used in good condition out there. Maybe someone can chime in on that. I live around Philadelphia PA, and I believe the Valley Forge Billiard Expo is headed to my area this spring. Do you think that I will be able to pick a table up then possibly from Brunswick or Diamond? I want to get a deal on a table so that if I ever need to resell, I can atleast get 60-80% of my money back. I figure if I buy BRAND new, I may only be able to resell for 50% of my money back.

-Chris