PDA

View Full Version : Ivory on Predator

Cueless Joey
05-17-2002, 12:12 PM
A friend of mine who is a semi-pro player plays with a Mcdaniel with Pred shaft. He had an ivory ferrule put on along with a padded Moori. Hits like a dream. Same low squirt and a ton of action. If you can have a very competent local cuemaker to do it, I highly recommend it.

05-17-2002, 12:28 PM
I was looking on Ebay at some Predator shafts. There was someone who repaired cues for about 5 years. And I think he is starting to make cues also. He has been replacing the ferrules on the Predator shaft and says the thicker, stronger ferrules hit just as well as Predator's ferrules.
And even Predator advertises that they use a thicker, stronger ferrule and a hard tip on their break cues. I'm surprissed Predator hasn't switched to a thicker, stronger ferrule on their regular shafts. But I am new to all this. And I have never seen or tried a Predator shaft.

05-17-2002, 01:55 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: Cueless Joey:</font><hr> A friend of mine who is a semi-pro player plays with a Mcdaniel with Pred shaft. He had an ivory ferrule put on along with a padded Moori. Hits like a dream. Same low squirt and a ton of action. If you can have a very competent local cuemaker to do it, I highly recommend it. <hr></blockquote>

you're sorta defeating the purpose of the pred. low mass end. that's why they drill the hole in it. if you like it then wonderful but by adding mass at the end you're moving the pred. back toward a regular shaft.

dan

Cueless Joey
05-17-2002, 01:57 PM