PDA

View Full Version : Trouble shot? Maybe you aren't lookin' at it.

Chopstick
10-29-2004, 10:59 AM
Got a trouble shot that you just can't get down. I've got a bunch. I caught myself doing something and I don't think I'm the Lone Ranger.

When I get down over a shot I have trouble with as soon as I hit the cue ball my eyes would jump to the pocket I was aiming at. Why is this bad? Because I never saw the cue ball impact the object ball. You may not realize it but if your eyes are on the balls when they impact your subconscious takes a snapshot of what they looked like and will adjust your aim the next time you shoot it.

If you never see the impact you won't learn the adjustments to produce the proper view when aiming. I started practicing holding my eyes on the spot where the balls meet until they hit the rails. It is proving to very difficult to keep my eyes still.

Anyhow it's just a theory I have about why I can't make this @#$%#@$@%$&^ shot.

PQQLK9
10-29-2004, 11:24 AM
You too huh ... thanks for bringing that up as it is something I need to work on.
By the way, where do you play in Orlando. I found some good One-pocket at Jimmy's on Orange Blossom.

SpiderMan
10-29-2004, 11:25 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Chopstick:</font><hr> Got a trouble shot that you just can't get down. I've got a bunch. I caught myself doing something and I don't think I'm the Lone Ranger.

When I get down over a shot I have trouble with as soon as I hit the cue ball my eyes would jump to the pocket I was aiming at. Why is this bad? Because I never saw the cue ball impact the object ball. You may not realize it but if your eyes are on the balls when they impact your subconscious takes a snapshot of what they looked like and will adjust your aim the next time you shoot it.