PDA

View Full Version : Origin of the Species - Darwin 101

Deeman2
11-12-2004, 10:30 AM
I am an engineer by education, a curious human by nature and a pool player by addiction.

I want to pose a question as a man of faith who respects an healthy agnostic view. Knowing me as you do, I will have something to preface this to frame the discussion. My beliefs are my own and not dictated by strict dogma. I am open to science as I see it demonstrated daily in my life. I don't take any relious teachings at fully face value. That is why God or nature (if you are so inclined) lets me think freely and independently.

Science gives us new theories every few decades. Only a few years ago we were taught that there was a universal theory that would tie together quantum physics and the behavior of objects in the known universe. Now, we know (believe) that they just dont jive. Particles don't have an exact place in space/time and violate laws we once thought definitive. We have now come up with string theory to help explain this. "M" theory even goes so far as to say there many be millions of alternative dimemsion and relaities out there, that, for instance, the South may have won the war in on reality (other than the recent election) and that all our knowledge breaks down at or beyond an event horizon (a singlarity).

Now these are not mad scientist I am talking about here but the mainstream particle theorists, now in the final death arguments between 10 and 11 strings. In other words, the math makes sense, so it may be valid.