PDA

View Full Version : Gay marriage bans, and the Bible

silverbullet
11-12-2004, 01:50 PM
In Gayle’s very popular,’ separation of church and state thread’, this was mentioned, but it deserves its own focus .It is a huge issue already, is going to get even bigger, and if you know ‘civil right trends’, the gays will win after much litigation, constitutions and laws challenged at the state and federal level etc. It may take years, but the gays will win.

I found this link, this is enormous and no way I could copy all of it, nor post it all. It talks about laws, polls, in various states as well as what is going on with this in Canada and other countries. So here is the link:

http://www.religioustolerance.org/hom_marr_menu.htm#menu

This was a link from the following site, which was one that came up in search relating to ‘separation of church and state’:

http://members.tripod.com/~candst/

When I first became a Christian at the age of 23, I studied the Bible voraciously.I quickly ran into the hateful things said about gays, by these so called Christians, not just verses read. Even though I was not gay, it threw me into a tailspin and my emotional reaction was violent. I thought God was about love not hate; I screamed at this 'spirit' God and told him I hated him. Other things happened to deepen my anger at brutally cruel injustices that I saw, and finally meeting gay people,I knew I was right. There were now faces and human beings behind my convictions. I do not claim to know everything, but I knew cruelty when I saw it, and this was the driving force propelling me to leave the organized Christian church.