PDA

View Full Version : Blue Chalk?

GStrong
11-18-2004, 01:26 PM
Why is it that Masters Tweeten Blue Chalk is generally accepted as the best? I have Khaki cloth (wife) on my table and the blue doesn't look very nice to say the least. It's hard to change chalk after using the blue masters for so long. What do you all think, just a myth? or why is it better? Thanks, Gary

JimS
11-18-2004, 01:40 PM
I think the Masters is the best quality chalk but when it comes to colors I have no knowledge, I have only my preference for blue because that's the way it's always been. /ccboard/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

Chopstick
11-18-2004, 01:47 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote GStrong:</font><hr> Why is it that Masters Tweeten Blue Chalk is generally accepted as the best? I have Khaki cloth <font color="red">(wife)</font color> on my table <hr /></blockquote>

LOL. They make a tan chalk for that color cloth. It's not a myth. It's been tested. Here's one I saw the other day.

http://www.platinumbilliards.com/rating_chalk.php

DavidMorris
11-18-2004, 02:27 PM
They do make tan Masters, you know... /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

While I do consider Masters the best brand of chalk, I've heard lots of conjecture over the years about how the different colors within a single brand actually make a difference. I don't have an opinion on that personally, other than I can't tell the difference between Masters Blue and Masters Green. I use Masters Green because my Simonis 860 is classic green. If I had tan cloth, I'm sure I'd be using tan chalk. I'd still keep a few cubes of blue or green in my case though -- you might get some funny looks at the PH using tan chalk... /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

dingle
11-18-2004, 02:51 PM
I have used both the blue, green, and tan chalk. I noticed a slight difference using the tan, but whether it was just a mental thing, I'm not sure. The nice thing about the tan chalk is that it doesn't dirty up your ferrule as much.

wolfdancer