PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question. Should i buy a Leisure Bay table

05-20-2002, 10:24 AM
I am new to table shopping and i am in the market for a used table. I found one that seems to be a O.K. deal.
It is a Leisure Bay 8 foot table, excellent condition, all wood, slate top. I believe the model is a "Seminole". They want $950 for it. Should i get it. Thanks guys

heater451
05-20-2002, 02:08 PM
I know a few people who have owned Leisure Bay tables and not complained, although they do usually joke about Leisure Bay also making/selling hot tubs as well. . . .(I've played on a couple--but I'll play on anything.)

The price is decent, given that they sell new from $1200-up, but you might be able to shop around for a "better" (that is, a **brand-name**) used table, for close to the same cost.

And, since a pool table is often a one-time purchase, it's nice to go with a high-quality table. However, if the Leisure Bay table is in good condition, it's not too bad of a choice. Also, you might want to consider whether you get anything else in the price, such as balls, rack(s), sticks, etc.

Ask yourself how serious you are about using the table, as that makes the largest difference, in deciding on going with a bigger name or not.

The best advice I could actually give, would be to go to where the table is and shoot on it, and see how you like it. Visit a few billiard halls as well, and check out the 'feel' of the different name-brand tables.

BTW, if you are in the Atlanta area, I can point you to a good place to ask questions about and/or shop for a table.

05-20-2002, 03:06 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: computertech7:</font><hr> I am new to table shopping and i am in the market for a used table. I found one that seems to be a O.K. deal.
It is a Leisure Bay 8 foot table, excellent condition, all wood, slate top. I believe the model is a "Seminole". They want $950 for it. Should i get it. Thanks guys <hr></blockquote>